Today is Halloween. This will be the second year in a row that I haven’t celebrated by dressing up and attending a party that someone else would have to drive me home from (but let’s get real for just a second, I only ever drove myself home).

Growing up I celebrated Halloween the same way every single year. We would dress up as a Bible character or something totally silly and bring a brown lunch bag to church. There would be different stations set up around the church and we would take our brown bag and go get candy from each station. We would watch a video that was set up as a cheesy western about the History of Halloween and then we would go home. Really and truly, it was just as fun for me as trick-or-treating, because we still got the candy and we still got to dress up*.

But I do remember that first year out of my parents house, the very first thing I wanted to do was go trick-or-treating, and so I did. There was so much hype…I went and picked out my own fabric and me and Diana made my costume. I designed it, told her exactly what I wanted, we made it, and I went trick-or-treating. It was a blast. I took the kids from next door and went around the area with them.

I remember when I was younger thinking that Halloween was a horrible holiday and feeling afraid and trying to convince my extended family that they shouldn’t be celebrating it either. And then when I was on my own, thinking that Christians were idiots because they were making it about something that it wasn’t. But I think this is the first year that I haven’t felt strongly about either side of the fence. That is mostly due to hearing the idea of a friend from church. His idea is that Halloween is the perfect opportunity to spend time with family and enjoy each others company. What I get from that is that, it’s really all in what you make of it, perspective. I celebrate Christmas as the birth of Jesus Christ, but my atheist friends celebrate it as a time of gifts and Santa and elves and as a holiday. So guess what? I am treating Halloween the same way. It’s only the “Devil’s Holiday” if I celebrate it as that. I understand standing by your convictions whole-heartedly. I, however, do not have any on the subject.

This year for Halloween I will sit in my home with my husband, we will make sure our dog does not freak out, we will hopefully enjoy the company of a good friend and her baby, and think nothing of the evening at all, because it will be like any other Friday night. I hope you all enjoy your evening, however you decided to spend it. I myself am looking forward to seeing pictures of cuties on my blogroll, delicious candy, and the best dagon baked spaghetti you’ve ever had in your life.

 

*My favorite costume ever was the year my mom and I dressed up as toothpaste and floss. She was Crest toothpaste and used a lampshade on her head as the twist top of the tube. I was Johnson & Johnson floss, cinnamon flavor. I think we have a picture somewhere around…definitely need to scan that in….

