There has been so much activity outside of the Internet that I’ve found it hard to make myself sit down and catch up and form any worthy thoughts. I have been spending time with Brad as much as I possibly can before we both go back to work, although I am working today. It’s just for one day before being off for four again.

We went to Maryland to visit my family and it was an absolute blast. It never ceases to amaze me how much my husband fits in with my family. There are non stop whispers in my ear from my family about how happy they are to have Brad as a part of our family, and how lucky I am. It is difficult not to be prideful about it, because I do know how lucky and completely blessed I am to have him. It was really great to see my cousins and catch up with family and when I was saying goodbye to my cousin Rachel she wouldn’t let go and she said she didn’t want to stop hugging me. I love my family, and I couldn’t begin to count how many times I said that this weekend.

After work today Brad and I are leaving to go to his brother’s house and spend the evening with him and his wife and the kids. I’m really excited about it and I know we are going to have a good time. I love being pleasantly surprised, and that has been happening a lot lately.

Game night is on Saturday and I am totally and completely looking forward to it. Nate is back in town for a short bit and I can’t wait to see him and hear his laugh again, he could make the most bitter of bitterest smile, and I can’t wait. We have a good crew coming and I get to use my new expansion pack for Apples to Apples. Also, Catch Phrase and Taboo. Brad is begging me to let him bring his Xbox, but the Infamous Brown House Game Night knows nothing about video games.

So much to look forward to in 2009. 2008 was an amazing year and there was so much good that anything bad has been outweighed and forgotten. Here is to 2009…a brand new year, a brand new life. Goodbye, 2008.
Everyone else is doing it, so I will too. I got this from Linda over at http://www.sundrymourning.com/

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? Got Married! Decided to try blogging public.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I did not make any, this year or last.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth? About a bazillion of my cousins….
4. Did anyone close to you die? Not this year…
5. What countries did you visit? None, stayed right here on the East Coast.
6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? Babies!
7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? July 19, 2008. The first day of the rest of my life.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Getting my boss to let me work from home 😛
9. What was your biggest failure? hello crappy weight gain!
10. Did you suffer illness or injury? No sir!
11. What was the best thing you bought? Wedding dress
12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Brad’s…he is amazing.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? It’s not worth remembering.
14. Where did most of your money go? Sad to say, dinners. Happy to say, our new home.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Uhh meeting my husband!?!
16. What song will always remind you of 2008? Pocket Full of Sunshine
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? fatter
c) richer or poorer? richer, in so many ways.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Eating like I know I need to….
19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Worrying about petty things.
20. How did you spend Christmas? In the car, driving to Maryland.
21. Did you fall in love in 2008? I most certainly did…
22. What was your favorite TV program? Gray’s Anatomy, Food Network stuff
23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? My body is unhealthy enough without having hate and bitterness to contribute.
24. What was the best book you read? Aside from the Bible, Babylon Rising
25. What was your greatest musical discovery? Jason Mraz (stretching on that one…)
26. What did you want and get? My grandmother’s wedding ring, Blackberry
27. What did you want and not get? Some books for Christmas
28. What was your favorite film of this year? Untraceable…I’m lame, I know.
29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I went to dinner with my family and I turned 24.
30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? No. Drama. Oh and, bun in the oven.
31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008? Roller Coaster-Esque
32. What kept you sane? My mother.
33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? None
34. What political issue stirred you the most? None…
35. Who did you miss? My Grandma Kay
36. Who was the best new person you met? My sister in laws
37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008. Seasons exist, and as much as you love one and dread another, there is no way to prevent the change and you just have to learn to accept it.
38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
 
Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) 
Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road.

Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go.

So make the best of this test, and don’t ask why.

It’s not a question, but a lesson learned in time.

 

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end is right.

I hope you had the time of your life.

 

So take the photographs, and still frames in your mind.

Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time.

 

Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial.

For what it’s worth, it was worth all the while.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end is right.

I hope you had the time of your life.

 

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end is right.

I hope you had the time of your life.

 

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end is right.

I hope you had the time of your life.
by Green Day, from the album “Nimrod”

