Last Sunday I woke up feeling pretty miserable after a sleepless night and lots of coughing. A week later and I’m feeling exactly like I did that morning, if not worse. Last week was a mixture of really awesome, and not-so-much awesome.
 
Developing friendships. Truly trusting God. God taking care of us as a result. Awesome time of prayer with our Life Group. Double pink eye. The beginnings of a sinus infection (full blown at this point). Financial struggle. Learning how to keep doors closed when they are trying to crack open……that was my Sunday to Sunday.
 
So that part about God taking care of us, it was awesome. As I said, I’m sick. Friday I woke up and I did some devotions. After looking up various words and verses, I ended up at Matthew 6:25-34: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” [provided by biblegateway.com]
 
After finishing my devotions and realizing how terrible I actually felt, I decided to go to the doctor and I didn’t care how much money was in the checking account.I decided that I would write a check, because being a Friday it would take longer to run and we were supposed to have our tax return on Saturday. I get to the window to check in and I start pulling out my payment and she gets a crinkly forehead and eyebrows and says, “You don’t have a copay today.” I picked my jaw up off the floor and asked how come. She told me that insurance had apparently reimbursed me for my visit the week before (which I had only paid a copay for). So I tried to contain my giggles in the waiting room, went back and saw the doctor and headed to the front to get my script. When I got to the window she said that she saw I didn’t have a copay today so there would be no receipt and handed me my script. I asked her if she could look and see what insurance had reimbursed me for and she said she didn’t know, but that the reimbursement not only covered this visit but probably the next one too, or at least a portion.
 
So I know that God says He’ll provide, and that He’ll provide abundantly…but like, He’s never done that for me before. But I guess that’s cause I never really asked before. And well, I’m trying this new thing where I actually put my faith into practice…and it’s amazing because I’m seeing results and seeing things happen. And ya know, while I have always known that God is real because I can feel Him, now I’m seeing Him and it’s stinkin’ cool and totally worth telling everyone about because you should all know that He is real.

