You would think since I’ve been on voice restriction for the past 48 hours I would be blogging like a mad woman, but it just isn’t the same as a human conversation. I have been having light conversation with Brad at night, but nothing too involved and I have otherwise kept my mouth shut. It has not been easy. I never realized how much I really talk until now. Or how many sarcastic remarks make their way out of my mouth. Or how much I really enjoy talking to my husband.

It has been a slow week, and as much as that usually sucks, I’m not complaining. So much time has gone by, and it seems like with my new work schedule time flies by so quickly. Brad and I are approaching our one year together. We’ve almost been married for 8 months already*, and we’re about to have our one year DATING anniversary. It makes me smile and giggle, and I still can’t believe that we have been together for almost an entire year. Of course we’ve had situations, issues…whatever you want to call them in certain areas, but all in all we have only grown closer, fallen more in love, the dynamics of our marriage change for the better every single week.

I can’t remember if I wrote about this or not, but since this realization it has only become more and more true. We were at dinner with some friends one night and talking about friendship. The husband asked us who our best friends are. Brad and I kind of looked at each other with that “deer in the headlights” look and shrugged our shoulders. Well, to be honest, we don’t really HAVE a best friend; and concluded that he was probably mine and I was probably his.

I think coming to that realization was one of the best things that could have happened for us, umm for me, rather. We [I] appreciate each other [him] even more now, and appreciate the different levels of our relationship even more. I am sure I am not the only person who has fallen into the trap of treating my friends better than my spouse or parents. I don’t mean that I treat my spouse or parents badly, per se. I mean that I am less likely to hold my tongue with them than a friend, more likely to get angry for something petty, etc. I don’t know how to explain the difference really, but lately when he smiles I feel a little bit brighter, and when he confides in me my shoulders are a little more square, and when he would rather spend time with me than do anything else I feel like a million bucks. He really is my best friend. And if I could spend each of my waking moments with him, than I would. I hope it only gets better. I pray that it’s always like this.

In the mean time though, God has really been bringing some awesome people into our lives lately. I feel like I am growing and maturing and really becoming someone who can make their mamma proud . I am realizing that if nothing else is ever consistent, there is at least one constant theme in my life, and that is that God is faithful. Sometimes it takes me longer than I would like to believe that, but without fail He is there.

*Oh Crap. I am a horrible person. I need to send out my thank-you’s. I can’t believe I haven’t done that yet. What is wrong with me??

