Does no post on Autumn’s birthday make me a bad mother? I sure hope not. I had good intentions, but with such big plans I just couldn’t make time for everything.

Autumn celebrated her 1st birthday almost an entire week ago, November 5th! The day was spent hanging out at my mom’s house baking over 100 cupcakes for her birthday party. Her party was the next day, Saturday the 6th, and it was an absolute success if for no other reason than Autumn was a star and was in a great mood. We had a full lunch, cupcakes, party favors, and lots of gifts that we let her open after she woke up from her nap that afternoon.

Brian came up from Wilmington and we had a lot of friends and family celebrating with us. I know she didn’t understand what was going on, but Brad and I wanted to celebrate the birthday of our daughter with people we know love and care about her. I know a lot of people thought that such a large invitation list was crazy since she is only 1 and doesn’t understand….but we are allowed to celebrate her birthday, especially since she doesn’t know how to yet. We reserve that right as parents.

She absolutely loved her first cupcake and ate it like a pro. When everyone sang happy birthday to her she squealed and clapped and danced in her seat, and I was so proud. Granted, we had been grooming her for about a month….but 4 adults versus 50 adults singing happy birthday is a huge difference, so there were no guarantees that it was going to be a good situation. But it was, she loved the attention and knew it was all for her. Brian got video of the Happy Birthday and some of the cupcake eating and video of her opening all of her presents…so I’m happy that we will have that to show her once she gets old enough to appreciate seeing herself.

It is unbelievable how much time has flown and how big my little girl has grown to be. She is so smart. She is so smart that I don’t usually like to talk about it because I don’t want people to think I’m bragging or over exaggerating. But she catches on to everything so quick and is sharp as a whip. I can’t wait to see what the next year is going to bring.

Happy Birthday Autumn. You make mommy so proud. I can never say enough about you and how much I love you, because there are just no words with enough meaning.

