Hi, and Happy New Year.

Ha! B0y, has this month been so not worth posting about, not exactly the best start to the New Year and clean slate and all that fun stuff. There are a lot of areas that I’m hoping will change in my life this year. I want better and I’m demanding better and I guess I’m just not used to feeling so blah about things so I haven’t wanted to really post and play the vague game. Obviously I was just putting it off, not exactly avoiding it. So now that we’re done with that, moving on!

There is some really fun and exciting possibilities coming up for me. I’m in school right now (taking one measly class, but one measly class closer to my goal) and there is a possibility that a job will be opening up in the realm of my future goal, career wise. I’m not really supposed to talk about it just yet, and I’m not really even sure that financially it will be possible…but I’m praying that God will open doors where he wants me and close them where he doesn’t. He’s done it before and I know he’ll do it again. I just want to be in the right place at the right time and I’m cool with however that happens. So I’m praying, and hoping the people who keep a prayer list will be praying for me too. I just wanna do the right thing.

My child is…not a baby anymore. She is getting so big and is so smart and I’m just so proud of her. Her little (BIG) personality is really coming out and she is so much fun, such a joy. I don’t know why it’s such a surprise, but time just seems to be passing so quickly and she is just so..real. I don’t know how to explain it really. It’s just such an odd experience watching a life grow. She keeps me grounded.

My weight loss is pretty much where I expected it to be. I’m down 8lbs of the 10 I talked about in my last post. It’s a very satisfying place to be. I pulled out my tub of size 16’s at my mom’s house and while I can’t wear them yet (or even button/zip them) I can pull them on (all the way on!) and that’s so exciting. I know it will be about another 15 to 20 lbs before I will be able to wear them comfortably, but I’m pretty satisfied. This is the area of my life that I’m dying to fast forward through. July will be a year and I know by then I will have lost at least 100lbs and while that number seems pretty far off, in the grande scheme of things I know it’s coming and I’m just ready to be there.

Sewing is a hobby that I’m really enjoying for myself. There aren’t a lot of things that I like to do for me. On the downtime that we get from Autumn I really just would rather spend the time with Brad and enjoy our couple time together. But when I feel like “me” needs some attention, sewing is my go-to. It’s kind of funny really, because the sewing I do is never for me (I’m not quite there yet), but it’s still my time. I just finished my mom’s birthday present last night, and I’m so proud of myself. I made her some pillow covers with the fabric she picked out back in December and I didn’t think I could do it (zippers suck, for the record) and I did. I did it all by myself with no help or advice or anything, and that feels pretty darn good. Saturday is her birthday and I’m dying to give them to her. Not even gonna lie, I wanna show them off 🙂 Now I need to order some tracing paper online (or make the trip to Joanne’s fabric at some point) and then I can try out some of the sweet patterns that my dear friend Mary Jo sent me. I’m still not at the place that I can really understand a pattern and it’s instructions, but I do fairly well by cutting out the pieces and fitting them together. I don’t get on myself too hard though, this is a self-taught hobby and with Mary Jo (my sewing mentor) living so far away it’s really hard to improve quickly. I am dying to sew up a pair of pants for Autumn though, and I would love to try a shirt or a dress for me. My favorite sewing website is http://www.sewweekly.com/ and the women there are so talented. It definitely makes me feel “less than” to see all of the beautiful clothes they sew for themselves, but it also inspires me to move in that direction.

Anyways, work is busy and I’ve blubbered on long enough. I hope everyone had a wonderful new year and that this is the best year yet.

