I would just like to start this by saying that I wish I had time to blog when I wanted to. I know people make blogging a priority but I just can’t do that over my school work, Autumn, and the other responsibilities in my life.

The good news is I don’t have an ulcer, pretty much like I expected. I haven’t been back to the doctor yet because I’m waiting on a friend’s dates so she can come with me. I haven’t had any issues with food sitting wrong, so I don’t feel like it’s a priority. I’m just annoyed with the whole situation to begin with and that I had to take off work, and take these pills, and stop with the spicy foods, and pay for the doctor visits, etc etc etc. I just wish he had of been a little less aggressive in his approach and maybe asked me the base line questions before going straight to the big boy questions. But enough of that. If it had of been something serious I would be grateful that he was so aggressive, so it’s all about perspective I guess.

I am down 93lbs and am so close to the 100lb mark. Brad and I joined a gym 2 nights ago and I can’t wait to jump start the numbers again. Brad says he remembers going through a few months of dead time in weight loss too so I’m not all that concerned about the slow numbers right now. I just want to kick start them again by working out and getting toned up. It’s better to work out while you are losing anyway and since I have failed in that department up to now I guess it’s kind of a good thing that the numbers have slowed…it will give me a chance to catch up fitness wise. I’m in a wedding in 2 months and I ordered a dress size smaller, so there’s that too. It’s a strapless dress, so I want to make sure I’m toning up my arms in preparation. I’m also going to tan for those 2 months. I’m not much on tanning and don’t do it very often at all. I did it for my prom, my wedding, and a friend’s wedding and now I’ll be doing it for this wedding. I just don’t like my pasty red blotchy skin to be so exposed, so I get tan. ‘Sall good. 

I got my hair allll chopped off into a pixie-like cut. I didn’t think I’d ever be able to do that because of my Chiari scar, but my hair dresser totally hooked me up and handled it. I really like it (picture at the end) and I did it mostly in preparation for my new job. NEW JOB. Why yes, I did just say new job. Twice actually. I applied about a month ago for a position at our Cary location. I interviewed with the manager and waited for what felt like forever. I’m convinced I was not their first choice, but in the end does that even matter? No, I think not. But the HR rep called me Tuesday with the offer and I accepted. I basically am just waiting to hear from my managers (old and new) about a start date. I’m thinking March 28th but we shall see. So here is the skinny on the new job. I will no longer be working from home. This may sound like a bad thing to some people, but I’m excited. I think that I need to get out of my home. I need to feel normal; I need some normal in my life. I am tired of sitting at a desk. It enables me to be lazy and I don’t want to be lazy anymore. The new job will be constantly moving around from patient room to patient room. I will be working primarily on the 2nd and 3rd floors and occasionally on the first floor. Brad jokingly said that I should only take the stairs but well, I kind of don’t see how I could pass up that opportunity now that the idea was brought up and I’m trying to get out of my laziness. So I decided I will take stairs when I go from one floor to another and the only time I will take the elevator is if I am with someone else. This job is also an open door for the career path I’m going to school for right now. It couldn’t be any more perfect, honestly.

The thing that I’m most nervous about is driving all the way from where I live to the Cary location. It’s about 20-25 miles or so but because of traffic it could take up to 45 minutes or an hour to get there. I’m thinking because I have to be there at 7 (!!) that I am not going to hit any traffic at all, traffic times in my area are like 7:30 to 8:30 generally, so it shouldn’t take more than 30 minutes to get to work. That means up at 5:30, leave by 6:30, arrive at 7. I will just have to play around with the driving and quickest routes the first week I start. I’m also nervous because the person that I’m “replacing” is a stinking pro at this and has set the bar really high. I strive for the high bar in my work performance, but I’m just afraid I won’t be good enough. I know that’s not the case. Over the years I have proved time and time again that I am capable of doing whatever my boss has asked me to do and I’m capable of learning new things quickly and thoroughly…but it’s that lack of self confidence that keeps me fearing I’m not good enough. I think I have realized that in my work endeavors I need words of affirmation to believe I am doing a good job. I’m not sure that my new manager operates that way, so I need to be prepared for that.

So lots of good things going on and I’m excited about this new chapter in my life. We’re reading Crazy Love at church and when I’m not being all apathetic and blah, I’m feeling inspired and excited about the material in that book. Francis Chan is a smart man, and he serves an even smarter God…so you can’t really go wrong with that book. Anyways, work is picking up and I need to get my butt in gear. You’ll notice that I only ever get to blog when I work Sandy’s shift. That’s because from 6:30-7:45ish it’s about as slow as a stream during a drought. But I like the reprieve sometimes, and I like to actually be able to blog. So I’ll take it! 

Hope you all are doing wonderful! I’m hoping to set up a photo shoot with my friend Jordan soon so I can get some updated pictures of Autumn, and of Brad and I too. Maybe then I can put a new header up since the current one is from December!!

